Who we are


On behalf of all of our governors we would like to welcome you to our school’s Governing Body pages

Our governing body consists of fourteen members who are fully committed to upholding our school Christian Values of love, peace, joy, friendship, forgiveness, perserverance and justice.

As well as the Headteacher and a staff representative, our governing body also includes parents of children who attend our school and representatives from our village church, All Saints,  and our Local Authority. In addition the governing body can appoint people with particular skills to be governors.These governors are known as co-opted governors.

The governing body has a range of duties and powers which include but are not limited to: 

• agreeing targets for pupil achievement and attendance
• managing the school's finances and resources
• making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based 
• appointing staff 
• reviewing staff performance and pay.

As governors, we are all focused on the same goal; to provide each child with an excellent education based on the highest possible academic, social, moral and cultural standards. You can help us achieve our goal by supporting our Headteacher and staff, and by respecting our school aims, values and policies.

If you would like to contact us to discuss any matter please do so by contacting the School Office. We look forward to meeting as many of you as possible in the coming year. 

Mrs Sharen Hartley & Mr Andrew Rigby
Co-chairs of the Governing Body

All Governors are appointed for a term of 4 years.
Governors may invite other people to attend any individual meeting. These people have no voting rights.
Governors may also invite people with specific skills to become Associate Members to any committee for a period of one academic year. These people must adhere to the same rules, regulations and code of conduct as governors and have no voting rights .

Co-opted Governors - Appointed by the Governing Body

Mr Keith Gratton
Appointed 21/11/2018


Chair of:
Finance & Resources Committee


Mrs Emma King
Appointed 21/03/2017

Member of :
Standards & Quality Committee

Nominated Governor for:
SEND, Looked After Children, Gifted & Talented Children



Mrs Phillipa Burke
Appointed 24/9/19

Vice Chair of the Governing Body.
Vice Chair of Standards & Quality Committee.
Vice Chair of Christian Distinctiveness, Care & Support Committee.

Chair of Pay & Performance Committee.
Nominated Governor for:
Safeguarding & PREVENT
Lead Governor for Maths

Mrs Gill Mason
Appointed 20/3/2018

Member of:
CDCS Committee











Foundation Governors - Appointed by Liverpool Diocese
Revd Janet Heighton
Appointed 04/03/18
Chair of the Christian Distinctiveness, Care & Support Committee

Member of:
Strategy Group
Ethos Group
Lead Governor for:

RE & Collective Worship

Mr Andrew Rigby
Appointed 28/09/17


Co-chair of the Governing Body
Member of Finance & Resources Committee

Nominated Governor for:
Pupil Premium Grant

Member of: 
Pay & Performance Committee
Strategy Group


Mrs Diane Bate
Appointed 14/12/2017

Chair of the Standards & Quality Committee
Member of:
Christian Distinctiveness, Care & Support Committee.

Lead Governor for:
Governor's & School's Forum Representative


Local Authority Governor - Appointed by the Local Authority

Mrs Sharen Hartley
Appointed 26/10/15

Co-chair of the Governing Body.

Member of:
Strategy Group.
Finance & Resources Committee,.
Christian Distinctiveness, Care & Support Committee,
Standards & Quality Committee

Lead Governor for:
Governor Training


Parent Governors - Nominated/Elected by ballot of Parents/Carers





Mr Daniel King

Appointed 4/11/2016

Vice Chair of Finance & Resources Committee

Member of:
Pay & Performance Committee
Nominated Governor for:
Data Protection


Staff Governor - Elected by ballot of School Staff.
Mrs Jo Kelly
Staff Governor
Appointed 01/04/2016

Member of:
Christian Distinctiveness, Care & Support Committee.

Nominated Governor for:
Young Carers Champion
E Safety

Mrs Anya Richardson
Appointed 01/01/15
Head Teacher
Member of:
Standards & Quality Committee.
Finance & Resources Committee.
Christian Distinctiveness, Care & Support Committee.
Strategy Group.


Contact the School

Rainford C E Primary School

Cross Pit Lane
St Helens
WA11 8AJ

Main Contact: Jayne Owens (Office)

Tel: 01744 883281
Fax: 01744 886495